Canvention and the Aurora Awards

Each year a Canadian convention or festival hosts the floating convention known as Canvention. This year Canvention is being organized by the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA) a national non-profit society and our host convention (When Words Collide). CSFFA's mandate is to give out the Aurora awards and induct people into CSFFA's Hall of the Fame.

There are 12 different Aurora awards. They are given out for both professional and fan (unpaid) work in the genres of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Works are nominated by members of CSFFA which all Canadians are welcome to join. The top nominated works are shortlisted and put onto the Aurora ballot and voted on by CSFFA members. CSFFA members also are able to download e-versions of all of the published nominated works.

The CSFFA Hall of Fame trophy will also be on display at When Words Collide and two new Canadians will be induced. The Hall of Fame inductees are determined by a jury of four experts and one coordinator from CSFFA.

For full details about CSFFA go to our site at:

This year a number of special events and panels will be happening at When Words Collide. Check the WWC program guide for the exact location and time since some of them have not been decided yet.

On Friday evening at 6pm in the hospitality suite at the Boomtown pub, here at the Delta, we will be presenting this year's first time nominees with their Aurora nominee pins. We will also be unveiling the new Aurora award. For the past 25 years the Aurora awards were made by Frank Johnson but this year we have a new design. Join us for both of these events.

On Saturday night after the banquet, at 6:30, we invite everyone to join us for the Aurora awards ceremony. This is a free and open to the public. Our master of ceremony, Julie E. Czerneda, will be hosting this wonderful event. Come find out first who wins this year's trophies.

CSFFA annual general meeting will also be taking place at When Words Collide. On Sunday at 9am join us to find out the result of this year's vote on society questions. Meet a number of the CSFFA board members and maybe see if you would like to assist with the society.

There will also be two special panels that you might find interesting. The first is a discussion by some past Aurora winners and nominees on how the Aurora awards has affected their careers. The other panel is a discussion about next year's new Best of a Decade award. This award is only given out once per decade and we will be discussing Science Fiction and Fantasy books and series that came out between January 2001 and December 2010.

Here are a number of helpful links about the Auroras and CSFFA.

About CSFFA:
CSFFA and Aurora FAQs:
2016 Aurora award ballot:
CSFFA Hall of Fame:
Aurora Voters Package:
Aurora award categories:
Eligibility rules: